Volvo EC15B XTV Thermoswitch

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Volvo EC15B XTV Thermoswitch

Hi all, new to forum but have been following with great interest for a while.
    I have a 2006MY with 2100hrs and apparently been regularly serviced by volvo under service contract. It seems to be in very good condition, although I'm no expert. Was told that it was one of the fleet of machines that Volvo supplied for London Olympics construction works?
    Can I also add to the commendations for Muz and Jackpreacher on their terrific write ups and info given regarding the EC15.

Now for the begging bit, my machine has also started to cut out for no apparent (to me anyway) reason. The machine has worked flawlessly for the past 10mths since purchase, although not done many hours and not really worked that hard. I believe the issue is with the thermo-switch as coolant level is good, rad fins are clear, engine does not seem to be running hot and yet the machine cuts out after about 10-15mins of running from cold. The Stop light illuminates along with the coolant light on console. I have disconnected the wire and taped over, at switch on thermostat housing and the machine runs fine. So does anyone know where I can purchase a replacement switch?

Any info is much appreciated.

Regards
    Simank

PS: I also have a lazy LHS track, so I would also like to sort this ASAP .

Hi Simank .. welcome to the forum

I can tell you a story about that switch. We had so many failures at one time, I was determined to source an aftermarket supplier rather than pay Volvo's extortionate prices. I hunted for long and weary to no avail, I trawled the internet .. to no avail. Volvo makes it hard because it removes virtually all demarcation from the component, which makes it impossible to get a comparative part.