Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CAT 301.6C jerky boom cylinder movement

Hi.

New to the forum so a quick introduction: My name is Andrew and I am a proud owner of 1.6 tons CAT mini excavator. I am amateur excavator operator with a couple of hundred hours in my log book. I am also an amateur mechanic - meaning that I will take on just about anything that needs to be done although that might mean that later I will have to call on the professionals to finish what I have started :)

My CAT is 301.6C mini hydraulic excavator. It has around 3000 hours and I got it a couple weeks ago used. Since I have been using it for a couple of days and I noticed two things:
    When operating boom cylinder especially with the arm fully extended and not loaded I frequently (but not always) experienced jerky cylinder movement. Sometimes so much that I had to stop and start movement of boom again. It seems (but I am not sure) that it happens more often when the machine is hot.
    The other thing is track movement. If I want to move slow it starts to move very slow but smooth. That's OK. But if I push the levers a little bit further to say half-speed it starts to move jerky and I have to stop and start over. Unlike boom cylinder issues this happens always (no matter hot or cold). If I push the levers all the way (forward or reverse) it moves smooth but with top speed.

Otherwise I noticed no leaks and have just changed hydraulic oil and filter. The engine runs fine. The power is always OK also under heavy load.
    Can anyone point me in the right direction what would be the steps to try to solve this problem?

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum Some hydraulic setups use shock valves in the circuits to remove or soften sudden movements .. could be a fault related to that ? although it sounds as though theres not enough oil in the tank but you say you've checked all that ? was it the correct oil you used?