Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Longstroke

Hi everyone!

Thought I'd start off correctly, rather than forgetting to introduce myself!

I am a Marine Engineer in the Merchant Navy (no guns) and I work for BAS on a Polar Research and Supply Vessel.

Anyway, I've always been into machinery and have had a few different track machines and trucks, but currently some of the fleet are a Mitsubishi MS070 which needs some tlc, and an MF450 which is somewhat worse.
    Also have a Bombardier Muskeg for logging etc, a Peterbilt tractor unit I still in the process of getting plated, a tri-axle stepframe, 2 tucker sno-cats, Ford 8630, Kraz 6x6 etc.
    Gosh, there suddenly seem to be a lot when I type a list! None are mint, indeed some are very far from it!

Two young kids also fill my time at home, and we are currently building an extension with me doing all the easier bits I'm legally allowed to do.
    Being tight we have various eco bits like solar thermal, solar pv, log burners and boiler, pellet boiler, heat stores etc as sometimes spending a little more can save money in the long term.
    Much to the neighbours disgust (once I put it up and they see it!) I picked up a small 200W chinese wind turbine which is another little project to get round to.
    Am also extending the barn and as funding allows hope to get a pit and concrete in which will be bliss having been working on dusty/muddy floors in sloping lump sheds since getting into machinery at 13ish!

I love working with machinery, operating and maintaining, although my current job has taken me much more into paperwork.