Volvo bl71 plus

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Volvo bl71 plus

Hello all, I am a newbie here and fairly new to plant operating etc but I do have a very experienced operator to operate my 180 backhoe that I’m in the market for at the moment.

I have been offered a 2009 Volvo bl71 plus and after viewing it I noted the following issues with it:

1) the front left wheel has a bit of play in it, like it is sliding back and forth on a spline feeling. I’m not sure if it’s as straight forward as a wheel bearing or not, does anybody know what this could be (worst case scenario)?

2) the seller had said that occasionally it won’t start, it will turn over but just not start up, if it’s left for 30mins or so and you try again it starts fine. I’m not sure if this may just be an air lock in the fuel or something more serious. Does anybody know what could be causing this (worst case scenario)?

3) when the machine is first started (cold) there is a slight whining noise coming from it, that disappears as it warms up, the owner said the oil had been sampled for filings etc but it was clean so he doesn’t believe it’s from the transmission. Does anybody know what could be causing this (worst case scenario)?

In general does anybody have any experience of a Volvo bl71plus that could give me advice and advise on what value the 2009 Volvo I described above would be worth.

Thank you very much in advance and I look forward to having many more discussions in the future.

Best regards

Campbell

Welcome Not a very popular machine so will be hard for you to get a fair judgement on ...they only brought them out, just as the wheeled machine market was starting to contract ... for sure knowing Volvo (although not this machine) it wont be cheap to fix , and I dont like the sound of some of the problems you describe