Hours and Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hours and Advice

Hello all. I am new to the forum and I am looking for advice please.
    I am a hand cutter currently cutting for various Forestry contractors in the South West and I am looking to move from a hand cutting to running an excavator based Harvester.
    Not entirely sure what machine it will be but the one I just based my finance on was a Hyundai 145 LCR.... it will be similar for sure.
    My question is regarding hours...how many hours are too many ?
    I have read that general overall condition is a good sign that the machine would have been looked after...but not sure how many hours should be avoided...or what are average..high..low?
    The machine I was looking at had around 3800 hours on it...which I believe is pretty good ?

Also...what should I look for when looking over the machine...I am a COMPLETE novice with regards to excavators and have no idea what to look for....slew ring movement tolerances ? etc etc... Im not going to bother mentioning things ive only read about ..I simply need advice please.
    I will obviously try and take somebody with me...If I can actually find some I KNOW..that also knows about diggers....which off the top of my head....is nobody.

Any advice will be very much appreciated.

Thank you
    Daniel

Originally posted by Supernube View Post
    Hello all. I am new to the forum and I am looking for advice please.
    I am a hand cutter currently cutting for various Forestry contractors in the South West and I am looking to move from a hand cutting to running an excavator based Harvester.
    Not entirely sure what machine it will be but the one I just based my finance on was a Hyundai 145 LCR.... it will be similar for sure.
    My question is regarding hours...how many hours are too many ?