Volvo ECR28 Battery Warning Light & "STOP" light on

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Volvo ECR28 Battery Warning Light & "STOP" light on

It's a 2012 machine recently bought for a renovation project. I previously had a EC13-XTV for a few years so although I'm not a professional I have some experience with these machines.

The battery warning light ( and 'STOP' light) has started to light up when working and the operator's manual just says:

The control light indicates the charge condition of the battery. The control light goes out as soon as the engine is
    running. The control light lights up if the battery is not being charged.
    – If the control light lights up during operation in connection
    with general control light (4), shut down the engine, perform trouble shooting, if necessary inform the customer
    service department.

Unfortunately, I AM the 'service department' but am certainly not very experienced!

First, I changed the battery for a spare, though previously used one, but after a couple of work sessions it would not start the machine. I recharged the battery and it would start the machine. So it certainly seems like the battery is not charging.

So I'm thinking alternator but am not sure how to test this.

Has anyone had similar trouble with this machine?
    Are Volvo's known for this sort of thing (my EC13 never went wrong)?
    Any suggestions before I give up and call a local agent?

Originally posted by Arthur View Post
    It's a 2012 machine recently bought for a renovation project. I previously had a EC13-XTV for a few years so although I'm not a professional I have some experience with these machines.

The battery warning light ( and 'STOP' light) has started to light up when working and the operator's manual just says:

The control light indicates the charge condition of the battery. The control light goes out as soon as the engine is
    running. The control light lights up if the battery is not being charged.