Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BioDiesel Whats your views

Originally posted by Muz View Post
    Cool Ive read some mighty debates on that topic when are we going to be able to just buy rapeseed oil or similar and put it straight in ?

You can now Muz, twin tank system, loads of folk do it. The only thing is the cost of the twin tank system and space required to do so, most simply switch to Biodiesel, I fill my Audi B7 2L TDI up for 35p per litre. I've not been to a tax station sorry petrol station for two years, happy days.

wow didnt know that, I'm off to do some googling

Isnt the big issue reliability of he engines, when using the bio stuff ?
    I Pull for a living

Comment

Not at all MadMike, the issue is with the reliability of the Biodiesel, any Diesel engine will run on GOOD Biodiesel, that's the tricky part. Biodiesel has strong solvent properties and will clean your system brand new, people get cheesed off when their fuel filter clogs after the clean out. Change the filter and once clean it's clean.

Comment

Now Rob you have me interested...................what is the raw product you are using??
        A driven man with a burning passion.

Comment

Waste veg oil from chip shops, restaurants, schools, care homes or anywhere you can get it. If you can get a supply of oil you are home and dry, but that's the hard part now as loads are jumping on the band wagon and offering silly money for their oil, I buy mine for 20p per litre, but you can pay as much as 70p.

On top of that you have chemicals but all in all it costs around 15p per litre to process including power, it is then down to what ever you can get oil for after that. The initial set up can be expensive but I worked on a 12 month payback and the whole set up cost me around 2.5k. You can legally make up to 2500 litres of biodiesel for your own use tax free per year.

Comment

So what are the others chemicals required Rob ?