May have ballsed up

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• May have ballsed up

Hi guys newbie here, at least on this forum.

I have a rather large garden and a lot planned for it so got me a 1997 JCB 8014 and since read some bad stuff about this model on here. Have I ballsed up?

I have to say that it seems great, nice and tight for its age, no leaks and does what its supposed to. The only thing I can see is when the outer boom is extended the bucket drops, what might this be? worn spool?

looking forward to some healthy debate.

Hi Rob .. welcome to the forum .. I'm sure you will be fine, .. it might cost you a bit more to run it if you were working it hard for a living, but I'm sure for your application it will do fine. Might throw up a stupid problem now and again as only JCB's can .. but it will be fixable.. just err... give us a shout .... when it does

And yes it sounds like a spool valve is allowing oil to bypass on the boom lift side, although it could also be bypassing the seal pack inside the ram. The way to check that, is to support the bucket with the machine stopped, release the pressure on the ram, and connect both sides of the ram together, kick away the support and see if the ram drops, over time., it will ofcourse drop immediately because youve opend the circuit up and resealed it, but check it over a period of several hours,.. if it doesent drop, then the fault will be with the spool, or a primary relief valve.
    Please don't PM me for plant advice.. thanks .. Post in the forum where I will gladly help, as will many of our contributors.. as the info and responses will help everyone else, which is why we exist

Comment

Originally posted by Muz View Post