Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What to look for in buying a used mini-excavator?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to look for in buying a used mini-excavator?

I'm posting this a little soon but with the new job I'm about to start provided it all works out well I may look at buying a used mini as there are quite a few on the market these days. I've been operating for twelve years and have some knowledge of the inner workings, not as much as Muz but I am a operator not a fitter afterall. Most of the used machines I see have anywhere from 1500 to over 3000 hours and I've heard people like to generally trade off at around 2000-3000 hours. Any suggestions on what to watch out for? And maybe what brands are shite?

Thanks for the compliment fella .. I hope I am worthy of it

Your situation really boils down to a few simple facts. The machines of those hours will be fine for years to come if you get the right one and look after it, as I know you would. You will know most of the things to look for already such as the state of the undercarriage etc, but sadly some of the troubles that we all hate, are buried in components of which, we do not know the history, unless you can find a like minded guy (owner operator) upgrading his kit which would reduce the likely problems, but it wont eliminate them as we all know.

Its safe to say that the expensive items apart from the undercarriage are slew gear, engines, track motors, pumps arent too bad these days, but the manufacturers are adding serious money onto the costs of general spares because they arent getting any margin on the sale of the new machine.

You need to buy something that has decent dealer support in your local area, rest assured .. all the jap kit is still well ahead of the competition IMO