Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Learning to become an excavator operator

Hey guys,
    I'm looking for some advice on learning to drive an excavator.Instead of going to a driving school,I am planning to rent out a machine for a week and practice in a field near our home.My father was a crane driver by trade but also drove diggers occasionally.He has said he'll try and teach me the basics.Would I be able to learn much in a week in this way?I'm hoping to eventually drive the bigger machines.Would I be better off learning on a mini digger first?What I mean is do you operate a mini digger and the bigger machines in the same way?If I was able to operate a mini digger efficiently,would I then be able to make the move fairly easily to the bigger machines?Or are they completely different in the way you operate them?I appreciate any advice you guys can give me.

I've thought some and in the process of teaching my son, but just at the present I'm unwinding after a long long stressful week and my thought process are some what dulled by the amber drink my wife is giving me at the moment. I will reply when I can coherently string some lucid thoughts together.

Stock
    A driven man with a burning passion.

Comment

Learning to be a machine operator is not something you will become over night. I can teach you to operate the levers with a great deal of skill given the time. What I can't teach you is experience. I have nearly 30 years under my belt Ian has something similar; Bert has at least 10years and Muz isn't saying. Knowing where and how to start a job how to set up the work site, how to dig etc only comes with time.
      The best way I have found to teach a young lad how to operate the controls of a machine is to give you a football or two and let you off to pick it up with a toothed bucket. It teaches you how to float a bucket flat along the ground. This is a skill that all other operations on a 360 are based around.