JCB 3cx, water in the gearbox!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• JCB 3cx, water in the gearbox!

Hi all. I'm new to the digger / JCB world, and it looks like I've got off to a bad start!

I have a 1989 4x4 3cx. I have lost drive, both forwards and backwards. I have discovered that the oil cooler was letting water into the gearbox and I'm guessing buy the debris that I have found in the bottom of the gearbox that it has knackered the clutches!

I am in the process of getting the gearbox out at the moment, this seems simple enough, just heavy!

So I'll need a new oil cooler, and some friction plates (I'm guessing the steel plates will do another trip?)

Any advise on the job itself or the best place to source the parts would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards, James.

OK, so the box is out!

The oil dipstick tube was a bugger, I couldn't get it undone whilst it was in the jcb because of the awkward position it was in and it caused problems all the way whilst removing the gearbox.
    The gear stick turret was in the way a bit too and Id probably remove this, although it didn't mention that in the manual.

Other than that all went well apart from working outside, in the rain, on my back with water trickling up my arse crack!

The box stripped down easily and it looks like a straightforward job...

And here is the offender!!!

All the parts, including o rings, seals friction and counter plates, bearings etc have been ordered. So as soon as they arrive I'll be on it!

Comment

Top job and thanks for the pics James .. very informative , were the friction plates being contaminated with water being the problem do you think ? It may sound obvious .. but surely there was a lot of oil in there too ?
      Please don't PM me for plant advice.. thanks .. Post in the forum where I will gladly help, as will many of our contributors.. as the info and responses will help everyone else, which is why we exist

Comment