CPCS vs NPORS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CPCS vs NPORS

I am currently an operator of various plant such as dump trucks, loading shovels and excavators.
    I have over 30 years experience on the machines and I am now thinking of taking the step into training and I am thinking of completing an NPORS instructor course.

I know that NPORS is not as big as CPCS but I think it is starting to be accepted on more sites.

What are peoples views on the status of NPORS and how do you think it compares against CPCS?

I think the answer to that is it depends where you want to work, and why you need the ticket. I have run my own company for 27 years with up to 50 diggers hiring mostly self drive kit, but also operated from time to time. Personally I was rarely asked for a ticket if I ever jumped in a machine, so never felt the need for one as I was rarely on a site for long, more just to cover, (without blowing my own trumpet), it was always clear that I knew how to handle my machine, but now I do more operated work because the money is decent and the company is smaller, so got me an NPORS ticket. I always hated the fact that the Major Contractors Group only allowed CITB/CPCS tickets and rubbished everything else, quite unreasonably, because, as an employer I was forced by statutory obligation to pay a financial Levy to the CITB every fookin year... which cost me a good few bob and gained me jack shit for it

To make matters worse and to validate my point, I had guys coming to me looking for operated work regularly , who I would put through some basic tests in my yard, and TBH the CITB guys on balance were generally less savvy than the NPORS (or its older version) guys were

I think there is still a bias though, despite all the levelling up thats happened in recent years ....Anything to protect the 'jobs for the boys' gravytrain