JCB 8018 Retracting Blade

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• JCB 8018 Retracting Blade

I have a JCB 8018 which is a great little digger. Its a 2005 with 1235 hours on the clock. The problem i have is that when i have the blade down for support if i hook a large stone or something and pivot on the blade as you do the blade retracts so you have to put it down again for stability. I have since discovered that if i turn the switch on that changes the blade lever from working the blade to opening and closing the retractable tracks the blade will stay solid. Has anyone else had this problem and know what it may be??

Hi W Jim ,I am no expert , but i would say the conrol valve is the problem . If you use the same control valve to work the blade and the track retraction , when you switch to track retraction ,a diverter valve will lock off the blade fucntion..So it should not move . I would say relief valve on that funtion is set to low .
    Don't worry about your spelling , We are all crapppy spellers here.

Comment

The relief valve is probably correct for the dual purpose it serves, ... since when was ballet dancing on the dozer blade good operator practice ?

You could adjust the valve up a bit, but being a jcb ... it will cover atleast two other services, probably your left and right tracks, and possibly even the slew. This will end up allowing too much pressure to the drive motors, and may give extra traction etc, but more likely start blowing hoses on 'all' the circuits.

The key to this is as follows, if your tracking power is ok .. leave well alone (assuming its the same relief which it normally is) if you find it wont sprag on concrete or tar, then the pressure is too low and needs to be adjusted.