Need a new chain saw

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need a new chain saw

Any of you guys got a view ? Local plant stealer wants to sell me a husky ...... I was trying out a Stihl today and was quite impressed with it, its just for softwoods really, no mega forestry work either, just clearing and some logging
    I Pull for a living

I have a Stihl MS250. I am lusting after a 290 only for the added HP but I am happy with the 250. I also have an old McColloch Timberbear that is quite a saw. The trouble is the weight. When limbing and small cuts, it gets real heavy. Big stuff: it just eats it up. However, it is a 25 year old saw and they don't make them any more.

The line crews use Huskies for their clearing work. I have never used one, but they appear to do the job pretty well.

Comment

Both myself and two of my kin have huskys with relative trouble free term, mine however did suffer chain oil pump failure just out of warranty, took I back to the dealer no problem had it back two days later with a new pump and chain bar and chain along with an apology. Great saw to start I have a kit with me when cutting timber it includes a paint brush which I use to clean down the saw prior to refuelling. But no matter what brand you get they need to be maintained, with properly edged chains. Lots of folks edge the teeth but forget the rakers.

http://www.oregonchain.eu/fileadmin/.../MM_EN_EUR.pdf

Don't forget to get a grease gun for the nose sprocket.

Proper petrol mix is vital but don't keep it too long as the modern petrol degrades after 3 months.

One other thing to keep in mind the gums in soft woods are detrimental to chains so use a good quality oil...............
      A driven man with a burning passion.

Comment

Originally posted by Stock View Post
        One other thing to keep in mind the gums in soft woods are detrimental to chains so use a good quality oil...............
        Oooh , dint know that ?

Comment